16 October 2012 – Nuuk, Greenland – Aqqaluk Lynge, Chair of the Inuit Circumpolar Council (ICC) today congratulated ICC Canada President and ICC Vice-Chair for Canada, Duane Smith, for having received the prestigious 2013 Indspire Award for Politics.

Indspire awards are given to Canadians who are both indigenous and an inspiration to others.

“The Inuit Circumpolar Council is proud of Duane Smith’s accomplishment. His Indspire award is testimony to the fact that hard political work and respect for those that have different opinions on challenging Arctic matters pays off”. Mr. Lynge continued, “Duane knows that making mutually- beneficial alliances with others without compromising Inuit values is key to improving and sustaining the Inuit way of life”.

The President of Indspire stated that “each and every one of our Award recipients is a role model and a leader who has made a profound impact in their communities and across Canada”.

For more information:

Inuit Circumpolar Council Chairs office: +299 32 36 32 Inuit Circumpolar Canada Office: +1 613 563 2642

Aqqaluk Lynge ICC Chair